THE MISSHAPES final.jpg
praise-930x350.jpg
THE MISSHAPES final.jpg

The Misshapes: The Coming Storm


See where it all began

SCROLL DOWN

The Misshapes: The Coming Storm


See where it all began

Misshapes: The Coming Storm

The First Novel in a Riveting New Series

 

Doolittle Falls is no ordinary town, and fifteen-year-old Sarah Robertson is no ordinary girl - she can control the weather with her emotions. But in a town where superheroes walk the streets (and fly over them), Sarah's third-rate powers aren't enough to secure her a spot in the prestigious Hero Academy, not to mention the fact that her recently vanished mother has become the town's most notorious Supervillain and the archnemesis of America’s favorite Hero, Freedom Man. Instead of acceptance to the school of her dreams, Sarah is marked as an outcast with powers – a Misshape. 

Sarah is stuck at public school, with a rag-tag group of fellow Misshapes and the happily ordinary Normals. Determined to fly under the radar, Sarah’s forced into a special class for Misshapes, where she meets other people with odd powers: a kid who shoots paintballs out his eyes, a girl who can talk to the animals (the squirrels never have much to say), and a boy who is followed around by backup singer ghosts, The Spectors (like all girl groups, they are obsessed with the postman). 

Despite this setback, Sarah is determined to take charge of her powers and win a place at Hero Academy with the rest of the superhero elite. Yet the path to Hero greatness doesn't exactly run smoothly. Her brother's recent rebellious streak is starting to wear thin, she has an intriguing (and smoking hot) new mentor, and an unexpected romance blooms with the Romeo to her Juliet, Hero dreamboat, Freedom Boy. Sarah is ecstatic when a mysterious figure offers to fulfill Sarah’s Academy dreams, until she learns he has been stoking anti-Misshape sentiment in the town. When the Misshapes come under attack, Sarah will have to make a choice between her friends and her destiny.

 

praise-930x350.jpg

Praise


Praise


“There is much here for fans of "Harry Potter" to enjoy…(an) imaginative, action-packed series opener.” –School Library Journal

“A strong debut…The authors conjure a world teeming with intriguing characters and unusual powers…the book never loses its sense of wonder and excitement. Worthy of the comics it takes inspiration from.” —Publishers Weekly

"A lively action story…packs in surprises, romance, and a creative array of “misshapen” powers. Great for readers who enjoy plenty of bam! and pow! in their adventures." —Booklist

“Awesome... we can never get enough strong characters like the Katniss Everdeens or Tris Priors. Perhaps the next to follow is Sarah Robertson." —Hello Giggles

"A fun book with a lot of heart and some truly interesting characters...perfect for fans of The Tick and other humorous superhero stories. Some of the powers, such as one boy's ability to conjure back-up singers, kept me chuckling and turning pages to the end. I had a good time making my way through this book and you will too." —Middle Grade Ninja